How to Prevent Certain People from Knowing You’ve Read Their iMessage

Tutorials about 3uTools and iOS. A place for you to learn more about iOS.

Moderators: Jacob Black, Grace Liu, Lily Lee, Moderators

Grace Liu
Posts: 537
Joined: 20 Oct 2016 09:33
like: 65

How to Prevent Certain People from Knowing You’ve Read Their iMessage

Postby Grace Liu » 14 Feb 2017 11:23

By default, iMessage sends a read receipt back to the sender, so they can see when you’ve read their message. You can turn this feature off completely, but what if you want to send read receipts to some people but not others?

In iOS 10, you can now turn off read receipts within each conversation separately.
01.png
01.png (80.58 KiB) Viewed 2211 times

Then, to turn off read receipts for a specific person, open the conversation in Messages with that person. Tap on the “i” icon in the upper-right corner of the screen.
02.png
02.png (70.79 KiB) Viewed 2211 times

The Send Read Receipts slider button is green when it’s on. Tap the slider button to turn the option off.
03.png
03.png (67.23 KiB) Viewed 2211 times

Tap “Done” in the upper-right corner of the screen.
04.png
04.png (67.39 KiB) Viewed 2211 times

Now, some certain people don't know if you read their iMessage or not.

Return to “Tutorials”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 1 guest